The Senate.—The numerical representation of the Senate by provinces is as follows: Prince Edward Island 4, Nova Scotia 10, New Brunswick 10, Quebec 24, Ontario 24, Manitoba 6, Saskatchewan 6, Alberta 6, British Columbia 6. Total 96.

House of Commons.—The representation of the people in the House of Commons has been governed by Acts of the Dominion Parliament passed in 1903, 1904, and 1907 (3 Edw. VII, c. 60; 4 Edw. VII, c. 35; 6-7 Edw. VII, c. 41). The provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta were created by Acts of the Dominion Parliament passed in 1905 (4–5 Edw. VII, cc. 3 and 42), and after the Northwest Census of 1906 the Representation Act was amended by an Act of April 27, 1907 (7 Edw. VII, c. 41), which gave Saskatchewan ten members and Alberta seven members after the next ensuing election of October 26, 1908. The seven additional members thus given to Saskatchewan and Alberta brought the representation of Canada in the House of Commons up to 221. The Representation Act, 1914 (4-5 Geo. V., c. 51), which was assented to on June 12, 1914, came into operation for the election of the 13th Parliament of Canada. An amending Act (5 Geo. V., c. 19), and the Imperial Act (5-6 Geo. V., c. 45), provide that the House of Commons shall consist of 235 members, distributed by provinces as follows: Prince Edward Island 4. Nova Scotia 16, New Brunswick 11, Quebec 65, Ontario 82, Manitoba 15, Saskatchewan 16, Alberta 12, British Columbia 13 and Yukon Territory 1. Table 1 shows the representation in the House of Commons according to the districts of the Representation Act, 1914, and of the amending Act (5 Geo. V., c. 19).

1.—Representation in the House of Commons according to the Districts of the Representation Act, 1914.

Provinces and Districts.	Popu- lation, 1921.	Representa-	Provinces and Districts.	Population, 1921.	Representa-
Canada.	8,788,4831	235	New Brunswick.	387,876	11
Prince Edward Island.	88,615	4	Charlotte	21,435	1
			Gloucester		1
Kings	20,445	1	Kent	23,916	1
Prince	31,520	1	Kent Northumberland	33,985	1
Queens	36,650	2	Restigouche and Madawaska	42,977	1
•	5.		Royal	32,078	1
Nova Scotia.	523,837	16	St. John City and County and		
	20 00 00 00 00		Albert County	69,093	2
Antigonish and Guysborough	27,098	1	Victoria and Carleton	33,900	1
Cape Breton North and Victoria	31,325	1	Westmorland		1
Cape Breton South and Rich-	16		York-Sunbury	38,421	1
mond	76,362	2			
Colchester	25, 196	1	Quebec. ²	2,361,199	65
Cumberland	41,191	1			141
Digby and Annapolis	28,965	1	Argenteuil	17,165	Ţ
Halifax City and County	97,228	2	Bagot	18,035	į.
Hants	19,739	1	Beauce	53,841	
Inverness	23,308	1	Beauharnois	19,888	1
Kings	23,723	1	Bellechasse	21,190	
Lunenburg	33,742	1	Berthier	19,817	1
Pictou	40,851	1	Bonaventure	29,092	ļ
Shelburne and Queens	23,435	1	Brome	13,471	1
Yarmouth and Clare	31, 174	1 1	Chambly and Verchères	34,643	I

¹ Including 7,988, the population of the Northwest Territories, and 485 belonging to the Canadian Navy.
2 Includes portion of Northwest Territories added to Quebec by the Extension of Boundaries Act,
1912.